Text Messaging Service
What is the messaging service?
The text messaging service is a way for us to contact patients. From February 2018 we will be using it to remind patients about upcoming appointments. We hope this will be useful for our patients as well as helping us to manage our appointments more effectively.
How do I sign up for the messaging service?
When you registered at the practice you were automatically opted-in for the service unless you expressly told us you did not want messages. You can opt-out again at any time. We do not send text messages to patients who are under the age of 16 for data protection reasons.
What if I don't want to receive text messages?
You can opt-out at any time. Just speak to our admin team and we will remove you details from our list.
I have been sent a text which says I share a phone number with someone else. What does this mean?
This means that we have more than one patient recorded as using the mobile number you have given us. We are committed to treating our patient information very carefully and will not send text messages to any number unless we can be certain that you are aware and happy for us to do so.
If you share a mobile number with other patients and are still happy for us to send messages to that number you will need to give your consent.